Block Florida’s Stop W.O.K.E. Act

For more than thirty years, The New Press has published books that facilitate social change, enrich public discourse, and defend democratic values. The New Press has now joined other First Amendment advocates in urging the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals to uphold a block on Florida's controversial Stop W.O.K.E. Act by filing an amicus brief with court. 

Slaves for Peanuts by Jori Lewis wins 2023 James Beard Book Award  

Inspiring America: Author and Activist Susan Burton

Susan Burton, co-author or Becoming Ms. Burton and founder of A New Way of Life Reentry Project, was named an honoree of NBC News' "Inspiring America: The Inspiration List." "Inspiring America" recognizes ten honorees annually for their efforts to help others. 2023 honorees include Jane Goodall, LeBron James, Yo-Yo Ma, and others.

Teach Banned History Partnership with the Zinn Education Project

In the face of growing attacks on the teaching of history, The New Press is partnering with the Zinn Education Project to send books to teachers and teacher educators in Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Iowa, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Texas.

Nikole Hannah-Jones, Frederick A.O. Schwarz Jr. to Receive Social Justice Awards at The New Press’s 30th Anniversary Gala

The 2022 honorees will be celebrated at the Edison Ballroom in New York City on November 16, 2022

Marjoleine Kars, photo credit Tim Ford, UMBC

The New Press Congratulates Marjoleine Kars on the 2021 Cundill History Prize

The New Press is delighted that Marjoleine Kars has been awarded this year’s Cundill History Prize and congratulates her on this outstanding achievement. This great honor recognizes and rewards the best history writing in English from anywhere in the world.

What Is Critical Race Theory and Why Is It Under Attack?

To say that there is an ongoing debate over critical race theory (CRT) in the United States today is to miss the importance of what’s actually happening in courtrooms in Illinois, in classrooms in Wisconsin, in th

The New Press Congratulates Abdulrazak Gurnah on the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature

Abdulrazak Gurnah was announced by the Nobel Committee as this year’s winner of the esteemed international literature prize. The award cited Gurnah’s “uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents.” Born in 1948 in Zanzibar, off the east coast of Africa, Gurnah is Emeritus Professor of English and Postcolonial Literature at the University of Kent, and is the author of 10 novels.

Kimberlé Crenshaw, Rep. Jamie Raskin Receive 2021 New Press Social Justice Awards

Professor Crenshaw and Congressman Raskin will be honored in New York City on November 9, 2021, at The New Press Social Justice Awards Gala

We’re pleased to announce that The New Press honored Kimberlé Crenshaw for her paradigm-shifting contributions to Critical Race Theory and Intersectionality, and Congressman Jamie Raskin (D-MD) for his efforts to uphold the rule of law, at The Social Justice Awards Gala on November 9, 2021, in New York City.

New Press Authors Among the 2020 MacArthur Fellows

Every year the MacArthur Foundation announces a new class of fellows. Sometimes referred to as a “genius grant,” a MacArthur Fellowship goes to recpients at the top of their respective fields. They are the creators, thinkers, and doers, who, through their extraordinary dedication and originality, have made huge impacts in their disciplines and in the culture. The New Press is thrilled to see two of our authors among the 2020 MacArthur Fellows.



Subscribe to RSS - News