Sing a Rhythm, Dance a Blues

Education for the Liberation of Black and Brown Girls

A groundbreaking and visionary call to action on educating and supporting girls of color, from the highly acclaimed author of Pushout

“Monique Morris is a personal shero of mine and a respected expert in this space.” —Ayanna Pressley, U.S. congresswoman and the first woman of color elected to Boston’s city council

Wise Black women have known for centuries that the blues have been a platform for truth-telling, an underground musical railroad to survival, and an essential form of resistance, healing, and learning. In her highly anticipated follow-up to the widely acclaimed Pushout on the criminalization of black girls in schools, Monique W. Morris invokes the spirit of the blues to articulate a radically healing and empowering pedagogy for Black and Brown girls.

A passionate manifesto that builds naturally on her previous book, Sing a Rhythm, Dance a Blues reimagines what education might look like if schools placed the flourishing of Black and Brown girls at their center. Grounding each chapter in interviews, case studies, and testimonies of educators who work successfully with girls of color, Morris blends research with real life to offer a radiant manifesto on moving away from punishment, trauma, and discrimination toward safety, justice, and genuine community in our schools.

In the tradition of For White Folks Who Teach in the Hood and Other People’s Children, Morris’s new book is a clarion call—for educators, parents, students, and anyone who has a stake in a better tomorrow—to transform schools into places where learning and collective healing can flourish.

Book cover photograph by Brittsense/brittsense.com.

Books by Monique W. Morris

Black Stats
African Americans by the Numbers in the Twenty-First Century

Monique W. Morris

Pushout
The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools

Monique W. Morris